The Agadir Agreement is a free trade agreement between Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia. Named after the Moroccan city of Agadir, where the process of creating the pact was launched in May 2001, it was signed in Rabat in February 2004 and came into force in March 2007. The first phase – pilot phase – of the “Agadir-SME programme” will be implemented in the member countries of the Agadir agreement: Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia. The agreement offers new opportunities for the extension of trade between the four members and between them and the European Union by offering preferential access to these markets on the basis of cumulative origin. The Council of Arab Economic Unity (CAEU) was established on 30 May 1964 by Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Mauritania, Palestine, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tunisia, Syria, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. [1] The project includes a series of capacity building, political transformation and systemic improvements aimed at strengthening the capacity of SMEs in the Agadir Agreement countries to cooperate and improve their competitiveness in international markets. The project`s actions and activities aim to promote the business environment, strengthen SMEs` supply capacity for quality products and improve the ability of institutions to provide effective trade support services linked to the accumulation of origin. In 2016, the agreement was revived after six years of inactivity. In April, Lebanon and Palestine joined the trade pact. Five protocols and two memorandums were also signed. The Agadir Agreement, which is in line with the spirit of the Barcelona Process (European Union), is one of the preferential regional agreements of the pan-European system. The Agadir agreement on the creation of a free trade area between the Mediterranean Arab countries was signed on 25 February 2004 in Rabat, Morocco. [3] The agreement aimed to establish free trade between Jordan, Tunisia, Egypt and Morocco, considered the first possible step in the creation of the Euro-Mediterranean Free Trade Area, as envisaged in the Barcelona process.

[4] Members participate in 96% of total Arab internal trade, and 95% with the rest of the world under the following conditions: Article 1 lays down the rights of each Member State: the “Great Arab Free Trade Area” (GAFTA) is a Pan-Arab Free Trade Area established in 1997. It was founded by 14 countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates. [5] [6] The formation of the GAFTA took place following the adoption by the Arab League Economic and Social Council (ESC) of the Arab Trade Facilitation and Development Agreement (1981) and the approval of seventeen Arab League member states at a summit in Amman, Jordan, on the Greater Arabia Free Trade Agreement (1997). In 2009, Algeria joined ALLIANCE IN 2009 as the 18th member state. GAFTA is monitored and operated by ESC. [7] The Agadir Agreement is open to all Arab countries that are members of the Arab League and the Greater Saudi Free Trade Area and are bound by an association agreement or a free trade agreement with the EU. Its aim is to facilitate integration between Arab states and the EU within the wider Mediterranean process, but it also has other consequences. The project aims to improve the competitiveness of SMEs The Agadir Agreement creates a free trade area of 120 million consumers. Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt and Jordan have decided to consolidate their bilateral trade agreements into a common free trade area, at a time when Mediterranean Arab countries saw the growing need for greater regional integration.

error: Content is protected !!